Tuesday, Oct. 21, 2003

*

close my eyes
breathe in
breathe out
open my eyes
and re-read the things youve said
how can you say these things
and not want to try?
how can you tell me these things
and not have a go?
how can you think these things
and be so scared of hurting me?
it hurts me more that youre so apprehensive
if youre so scared of hurting me
why even tell me these things?
i'll trust you until you give me reason not to
but it doesnt make sense to take away that trust before we've even started anything
and its true
i dont ever want to be hurt again
but living like im dying is hurting more
than a broken heart that can heal itself
i dont ever want to be hurt again
but at least we can say we tried
yet youre holding yourself back
and i dont understand why
if we dont try
if i dont try
then i'll be living with regret
i promised myself i'd never do that
and dont ever compare yourself to him
you will never be him
you are so much more
i promise
if this begins
and ends in tears
at least i met a boy who knew me better than i knew myself
at least i had some wonderful times with you
at least i got closer to happiness
and you cant call this just friendship
dont call this just friendship
because we know its not
its so much more
so so much more

the simplest thing i can say is
i love you

thissidedown at 9:41am

previous | next